Skip to Content

Sketchy site offers iPhone apps 'at a price that's a steal'

iPhoneApps.org, currently the top Google result when searching for "iPhone apps," offers 10 apps for $25, including much-sought-after MMS and video recording capability.

But hold on there, pardner, because it looks like they make you jailbreak your phone to get the apps to work. According to a post by a disgruntled customer at Yahoo! Answers, the site is only selling ZiPhone, and instructions on how to install the apps shown on their homepage.

If this post is correct, this reeks of scamminess, since nothing mentions ZiPhone anywhere on their site before purchase. ZiPhone is also freeware. Not cool.

Apple and The Jobsmeister also made it pretty clear that the App Store (via iTunes) was the only place to get apps for your iPhone or iPod touch. Now, we all know that's not necessarily the case, but to base a business around breaking the rules historically hasn't worked.

[Via PC World and Gedeon Maheux, the latter with NSFW language.]



Categories

App Store

iPhoneApps.org, currently the top Google result when searching for "iPhone apps," offers 10 apps for $25, including much-sought-after MMS...
 

Add a Comment

*0 / 3000 Character Maximum

27 Comments

Filter by:
Dave

now that we got their info can someone just do a denial of service attack on their servers.

July 23 2008 at 3:19 AM Report abuse rate up rate down Reply
kiwinerd

Yeah, these bastards are so uncool it's not funny.

TUAW, congrats for helping out them!

July 22 2008 at 11:10 PM Report abuse rate up rate down Reply
Craig Knighton

Pity they didn't opt out of the UK Whois query at www.nic.uk

Domain name:
iphoneunlocking.org.uk

Registrant:
E Services

Registrant type:
Unknown

Registrant's address:
261, Church Street ,Little Lever,, Bolton
Manchester
BL3 1BS
GB

Registrar:
Key-Systems GmbH [Tag = KEY-SYSTEMS-DE]
URL: http://www.Key-Systems.net

Relevant dates:
Registered on: 04-Feb-2008
Renewal date: 04-Feb-2010
Last updated: 06-Mar-2008

Registration status:
Registered until renewal date.

Name servers:
ns787.hostgator.com
ns788.hostgator.com

July 22 2008 at 4:07 PM Report abuse rate up rate down Reply
8CoreWhore

Isn't there a way to get them on the list for "malicious sites" or what ever it's called? So that when a person visits there, the browser gives a warning....

July 22 2008 at 3:03 PM Report abuse rate up rate down Reply
danny

well, click on their "unlock" button and you arrive at http://www.iphoneunlocking.org.uk and what do I see? their solution is compatible with iphone 3g. isn't that grand, saves de dev team a bit of work....

July 22 2008 at 2:43 PM Report abuse rate up rate down Reply
1 reply to danny's comment
Kev Orng

iphoneunlockuk aren't saving the dev team any work. They're the scammers who are stealing the dev teams work. I think they're reselling pwnage for £29. The dev team has covered this in their blog. I'd give you a direct link but, you know, no copy and paste.

July 22 2008 at 7:37 PM Report abuse rate up rate down Reply
T Webb

I sent emails to the developers on 15 Jul making them aware of the issue. I hadn't heard back from everyone.

Here are 2 responses:
VNSea: Laughing....
> I'm going to offer VNsea on App Store for Free soon.
> That should put an end to all that :-D
>
> thanks for forwarding it!

Ringtone: > Damned!!! WTF!
>
> Thanks for reporting
>
> I'll write now to the site owner and make a news on my site.
>
> Thanks a lot!



July 22 2008 at 1:52 PM Report abuse rate up rate down Reply
Jutzuro

This makes no sense. If people are intelligent enough to search "iPhone apps" in Google, considering that they have heard of "iPhone Apps" that are to be installed and executed in your iPhone, how haven't they heard of Installer.app, Cydia, the Apple App Store...etc, HOW CAN THEY PAY FOR THIS????. I mean, something is wrong here.

July 22 2008 at 1:40 PM Report abuse rate up rate down Reply
mcdj

These guys need a world wide web slap.

July 22 2008 at 1:22 PM Report abuse rate up rate down Reply
punkassjim

I love how their banner says "$24.95," yet the box image says $49. That just says quality.

July 22 2008 at 1:21 PM Report abuse rate up rate down Reply
Rhywun

Of course if the FSF had their way, this would go from 'sketchy' to 'standard operating procedure'.

July 22 2008 at 1:16 PM Report abuse rate up rate down Reply
Buy an ad here

Hot Apps on TUAW

Tweets

© 2012 AOL Inc. All Rights Reserved.