Open Tech is up for sale
Just as quickly as Open Tech opened up, the Mac clone creator has decided to put itself up for sale. Of course, we're not sure who would buy a company that could be sued at anytime by the Mothership.Open Tech has information about the sale on their website. For just $50,000 (payable via PayPal, oddly enough), you will receive the following:
- Open Tech name
- Open Tech website
- Trade secrets (as in secrets to ripping off Apple)
- Press contacts (are they selling the actual people?)
- 2 Open Tech machines with the OS of your choice
[via MacNN]
Share
Categories
Just as quickly as Open Tech opened up, the Mac clone creator has decided to put itself up for sale. Of course, we're not sure who would...
Add a Comment
Shane, I like you. A random reply in anger that is totally unrelated to anything said by anyone.
August 27 2008 at 3:34 AM Report abuse Permalink rate up rate down Replybeing the owner of various items of apple hardware it still makes me shudder to see blogs, and even comments shafting apple like they personally owe the company something. why the f--k is everyone so pretentious, leaping on board this 'fight the moral cause thing'.
Who gives one if a company is offering a competitively charged service, producing an ALTERNATIVE for the consumer. Its not like anything is being infringed on OSX, these people are fans of apple, that's why they go to the means of productively furthering a great product, OSX. Unlike half the pretentious sets on here who run around shafting the apple company, before actually thinking anything through. Do you all have shares in them or something? make me sick.
I would love to see the poor buyer getting this manila folder with some handwriting on it, "Trade Secrets"...the thrill!
August 26 2008 at 11:18 AM Report abuse Permalink rate up rate down ReplyI'd buy that for a dollar. On second thought, maybe not.
August 26 2008 at 11:15 AM Report abuse Permalink rate up rate down ReplyTheir domain is actually http://www.good2beopen.com/, they're just using an .tk forwarder, hahaha
August 26 2008 at 11:04 AM Report abuse Permalink rate up rate down ReplyThe .TK address will be back on the free market 90 days after the number of visitors drops substantially.
August 26 2008 at 1:20 PM Report abuse Permalink rate up rate down ReplyYeah, and the actual site is a freewebs site!
August 26 2008 at 1:27 PM Report abuse Permalink rate up rate down ReplyThe name and website are worthless - in the case of the website, because it's just plain shit. The tradesecrets are dubious at best - and available on the internet in some form. The machines are gonna be worth less than a coupld of regular Macs and have no warranty - but let's be ultra, ultra, ultra generous for the sake of nice round numbers and say that they're $5k each. That leaves $40k for press contacts. They can't be that good if the rest of the entire company is valued so low. If anyone actually pays anything for this then they deserve what they get.
August 26 2008 at 10:37 AM Report abuse Permalink rate up rate down ReplyLate...
Old news...
You guys are being slow lately
Hot Apps on TUAW
Deals of the Day
more deals- Refurbished Skullcandy Tokidoki Smokin' Buds Mic'd Headset for $5 + $2 s&h
- Stitchway Backup Battery for iPod / iPhone for $5 + free shipping
- Used Apple MacBook Pro 2.4GHz 15" LED Laptop for $1,030 + $29 s&h
- Refurb MacBook Air Core i5 Dual 1.6GHz 12" Laptop for $750 + free shipping
- Sony Dock 20W Speaker System for iPhone / iPod for $51 + $15 s&h
- Soulo Karaoke App and Wireless Mic for iPhone / iPad for $80 + free shipping
Software Updates
more updates- EFI Firmware Update brings Lion Internet Recovery to 2010-model Macs
- OS X Lion 10.7.3 released with Safari 5.1.3, Wi-Fi bug fix
- Aperture updated to 3.2.2, addresses Photo Stream issue
- Apple updates Keynote to address Lion issues
- Google Search app gets new look on iPad
- Apple releases Apple TV Software Update 4.4.3



9 Comments