Back to Mobile View

Skip to Content

TUAW Deals

iTunes 101: Deauthorize all computers at once


Many iTunes users are aware of the 5-computer limit for purchases made through iTunes. But what happens when you reach this limit? Well, you could go to each computer and de-authorize it by going to Store > De-authorize Computer, but this doesn't work if you get rid of a computer and forget to de-authorize it.

If you have reached your 5-computer limit, then launch iTunes, click iTunes Store, and then click your iTunes user name in the top-right corner of the store window. Once you login, you should see a page with all of your account information on it. In the middle of the page, you should see how many computers are currrently authorized. When you reach your 5-computer limit, a new button will appear here called "Deauthorize All." When you click this button, and confirm, your computer limit will start over at zero.

You will then need to re-authorize the computers that you want to keep. From iTunes, go to Store > Authorize Computer.

Update: As many have noted in the comments, this deauthorize all button can only be used one time per year. So, if you only have one or two computers to deauthorize, it might be best to do it manually. You can learn more about iTunes de-authorization on this Apple support note.

Want more tips and tricks like this? Visit TUAW's Mac 101 section.

© 2014 AOL Inc. All Rights Reserved.