John Nack updates Adobe 2O7.net controversy
Adobe Photoshop product manager & corp-blogger John Nack has posted a followup on the issue of Adobe applications that 'phone home' to a quirky domain name; the official Adobe technote is here. In case you missed it, the commotion arose out of an Uneasy Silence post on 12/26. Dan initially thought that Little Snitch was catching CS3's welcome screen in the act of pinging to his local network, but then a bit of due diligence showed that '192.168.112.2O7.net' was not, in fact, an IP address but rather a domain name owned by Omniture and used for usage tracking (including by the iTunes ministore). Suspicions about the 2O7.net domain go back quite a while, so it's no surprise that frustrated users would raise a stink with Adobe when the tracking connections were discovered; more so in this case because the domain name is plainly constructed to appear, on casual examination, as a private IP address (fooling humans, but not firewalls).Nack's post, one of several on the topic, indicates that pretty much any content retrieved from the Adobe.com site (including the Flash file embedded into the CS3 welcome screens) pings back to Omniture's servers for anonymous usage tracking. OK, forewarned is forearmed -- but why the 192.168 goofy domain? Nack's trying to help:
Q.: Why does Adobe use a server whose name is so suspicious-looking?
A.: I'm afraid the answer is that we don't really know. The fact is that this SWF tracking code already existed on the Macromedia side at the time the companies merged, and it was adopted without change by a number of products for CS3. The people who wrote the code originally did not document why they used that server name, and we can't find anyone who remembers. I'm sorry we aren't able to provide a more solid, definitive explanation.
Forthrightness appreciated, but what we're left with is the same explanation we had at the beginning (which is the only reasonable one, as far as I can see): the 2O7.net domain name was designed to fool users into thinking the app is accessing the local LAN when it phones home. Omniture has been using 2O7.net since 2000, with varying degrees of public outcry; in this case, at least, the response of customers is encouraging Adobe to stop using the deceptive domain name in future products.
[via Daring Fireball]
Share
Adobe Photoshop product manager & corp-blogger John Nack has posted a followup on the issue of Adobe applications that 'phone home' to...
Add a Comment
It's not just Adobe using 2o7.net I just installed Little Snitch 2; and the first 2o7.net I came across was "aolwbtuaw.122.2o7.net" Hey TUAW whats up?
January 10 2008 at 11:27 PM Report abuse Permalink rate up rate down ReplyYes Frank, we use Omniture to track pageviews, etc. on our properties. A lot of companies do. In fact, most web properties use *something* to track the pages-- Omniture happens to be a really good tool for this and that's why we picked them.
I think this is a reasonable expectation on websites, isn't it? How would you propose we sell ads? Without tracking, we wouldn't know how many of you hate Erica's iPhone posts.
The issue here (in my mind) is that Adobe has handled this poorly in several regards, shifting blame and obfuscating.
I personally don't like apps that phone home all the time.
Here's some free information for you, adobe and others:
Go EFF yourself! (Electronic Frontier Foundation..and you thought I was being rude)
Seriously, I've let my numerous clients know what kind of company Adobe is (as if they didn't with the issues of Leopard and Photoshop CS3, the numerous annual upgrades to CS products and cost, the monopoly formed by taking in Macromedia and last competition, the bloatedware we've come to know as Illustrator, and the security holes in PDFs...). Oh and don't forget how Apple releases some amazingly fast hardware, and Adobe is 18months behind supporting (and hurting the Apple sales of hardware) with the excuse "Oh, we have billions of lines of code we have to re-write..and PC users to support..." HELLO? What platform got ADOBE created in the FIRST place?
You don't like this? Stick it to them where it hurts; their wallet. Not yours. Sell off your Adobe stock. Don't buy next versions. This is unacceptable.
For some reason, no one says "shame on Apple". Only Adobe. Blind fanboys grill another company for doing something exactly like Apple, yet...Apple goes blameless! ROFL
January 09 2008 at 8:00 PM Report abuse Permalink rate up rate down ReplyIt's a shame. Shame on Adobe.
January 09 2008 at 2:41 PM Report abuse Permalink rate up rate down ReplyWeb sites and programs use all sorts of addresses to phone home or report stats about a user's activity (I'm not saying I agree with the practice). Like many others here, I just block the addresses.
January 09 2008 at 1:58 PM Report abuse Permalink rate up rate down ReplyWas Adobe doing this as a favor to Omniture? Or was Adobe buying a service from Omniture? Because -- unless it really was a little joke left over from years gone by (and it wasn't) -- it's hard to imagine Omniture would provide bandwidth and services to Adobe and not bill Adobe. And once the accounts receivables department is involved, it's hard to imagine product managers not knowing this was there.
January 09 2008 at 1:32 PM Report abuse Permalink rate up rate down ReplyI think all these companies do this type of thing all the time its just that they think we aren't smart enough to figure this stuff out or don't have the tools to. Its like a cat & mouse game between the consumers and the companies. Thanks for taking the time to find these bad eggs and alert the rest of us.
January 09 2008 at 12:57 PM Report abuse Permalink rate up rate down Reply"but what we're left with is the same explanation we had at the beginning ...the 2O7.net domain name was designed to fool users into thinking the app is accessing the local LAN when it phones home. "
Exactly. All this "gee, we don't know WHERE that came from" "That was a Macromedia thing" "Its been going on for years" stuff is irrelevant.
Its simple. Omniture is trying to hide the fact they were "phoning home", by obscuring their IP, similar to how spammers operate. Which sucks.
Adobe, by hiring Omniture, was either knowingly complicit in this deception, which would suck, or they were oblivious to what Omniture were doing to their flagship product, which would also suck.
I just don't buy Adobe's "gee, shucks, who knew" attitude towards this. This isn't some 2 person shareware company. Does anyone really believe NO ONE in their upper echelon knew about this issue before UneasySilence called them on it? I don't doubt John Nack's bewilderment at it, nor his mea culpa now, I'm sure he's sincere (although his first blog post about it was pretty snide, which didn't help things at all). But just because he was out of the loop, doesn't mean Adobe wasn't aware of it.
"but what we're left with is the same explanation we had at the beginning ...the 2O7.net domain name was designed to fool users into thinking the app is accessing the local LAN when it phones home. "
Exactly. All this "gee, we don't know WHERE that came from" "That was a Macromedia thing" "Its been going on for years" stuff is irrelevant.
Its simple. Omniture is trying to hide the fact they were "phoning home", by obscuring their IP, similar to how spammers operate. Which sucks.
Adobe, by hiring Omniture, was either knowingly complicit in this deception, which would suck, or they were oblivious to what Omniture were doing to their flagship product, which would also suck.
I just don't buy Adobe's "gee, shucks, who knew" attitude towards this. This isn't some 2 person shareware company. Does anyone really believe NO ONE in their upper echelon knew about this issue before UneasySilence called them on it? I don't doubt John Nack's bewilderment at it, nor his mea culpa now, I'm sure he's sincere (although his first blog post about it was pretty snide, which didn't help things at all). But just because he was out of the loop, doesn't mean Adobe wasn't aware of it.
Actually, "namtastic," you have it exactly wrong. Omniture is simply offering a product to companies. It's their corporate customers, such as Apple and Adobe, who are deceptive, by not informing end users of Omniture's involvement in their products.
January 09 2008 at 11:46 AM Report abuse Permalink rate up rate down ReplyHot Apps on TUAW
Deals of the Day
more deals- miFrame Picture Frame Dock for iPad for $64 + $8 s&h
- Refurb Apple iPod nano 8GB MP3 Player for $99 + free shipping, 16GB for $119
- Bling Diamond Snap-On Shell Case for iPhone 4 / 4S for $2 + $2 s&h
- Hannspree Apple-Shaped 28" 1080p LCD HDTV for $270 + free shipping
- Philips wOOx Alarm Clock Radio for Apple iPod / iPhone for $60 + free shipping
- iWatchz Elemetal Collection Bracelet for iPod nano for $75 + free shipping
Software Updates
more updates- EFI Firmware Update brings Lion Internet Recovery to 2010-model Macs
- OS X Lion 10.7.3 released with Safari 5.1.3, Wi-Fi bug fix
- Aperture updated to 3.2.2, addresses Photo Stream issue
- Apple updates Keynote to address Lion issues
- Google Search app gets new look on iPad
- Apple releases Apple TV Software Update 4.4.3



31 Comments