Phishing schemes targeting MobileMe users again
Be very careful if you get an email from Apple telling you they need to re-check your credit card information. One of our readers got just such an email, and he didn't fall for it. This particular rip-off comes from an 'Apple-bills.com' domain, which has nothing to do with Apple. They'll be glad to take your credit card info, and give you a big surprise when you get your next billing statement.
An Apple representative confirmed that the email is not from Apple. They also suggest you send copies of the email and relevant details to spam@me.com if you get one.
This isn't the first time this scam has gone after MobileMe users. We reported on some MobileMe scams in May. In February another scam site was telling people their MobileMe renewal was not received and to do it again. Back in 2008, ComputerWorld reported on another phony scheme that fleeced about 200 MobileMe customers in a single day. It's probably a good idea to not click on links in emails that ask for financial or credit card information, and it is easy to check with any vendor to see if the request is legitimate.
If you ever have questions about a MobileMe renewal, you can go to: www.apple.com/support/mobileme/ and do a live chat with an Apple support agent. Also, don't update from an email. Log into your account and update there.
Just before posting this I tried the link our reader sent. The first time I clicked I saw the fake Apple page. Now there is an error page there instead.
Thanks to Asif for the tip.
Share
Categories
Be very careful if you get an email from Apple telling you they need to re-check your credit card information. One of our readers got just...
Add a Comment
they will certainly try.
one thing you can count on with Apple is the limited number of domains they use. if it isn't XXXX.apple.com or XXXX.me.com (for things related to that service) be highly suspect.
I'm just glad I never tell anyone that my social security number is 987-65-4324. Even when they say "please". That's how I know I'm perfectly safe.
January 13 2010 at 3:39 PM Report abuse Permalink rate up rate down Replywow they asking for your whole life information's ... it is like you give them a blanco check
January 13 2010 at 3:11 PM Report abuse Permalink rate up rate down ReplyGlad to hear the guy that reported it didn't fall for it... But if you're dumb enough to fall for one of those without thoroughly looking into it, they deserve your money more than you.
apple-bills.com? Really? Let me go update my paypals-account.com credit cards as well.
Unfortunately, not everyone like is as computer literate as you, good isr. And those who believe they're actually immune because Macs are "virus-free" and can't differentiate that and phishing are the likely ones to go first.
So to sum up what I just said, enjoy your hand. Also, clean the basement.
Hot Apps on TUAW
Deals of the Day
more deals- miFrame Picture Frame Dock for iPad for $64 + $8 s&h
- Refurb Apple iPod nano 8GB MP3 Player for $99 + free shipping, 16GB for $119
- Hannspree Apple-Shaped 28" 1080p LCD HDTV for $270 + free shipping
- Philips wOOx Alarm Clock Radio for Apple iPod / iPhone for $60 + free shipping
- iWatchz Elemetal Collection Bracelet for iPod nano for $75 + free shipping
- iFrogz Luxe Lean Hard Case for iPod touch for $10 + free shipping
Software Updates
more updates- EFI Firmware Update brings Lion Internet Recovery to 2010-model Macs
- OS X Lion 10.7.3 released with Safari 5.1.3, Wi-Fi bug fix
- Aperture updated to 3.2.2, addresses Photo Stream issue
- Apple updates Keynote to address Lion issues
- Google Search app gets new look on iPad
- Apple releases Apple TV Software Update 4.4.3



5 Comments