Filed under: Retail
New Apple contest for Canadian college/university students
Today, Apple announced the "Win What You Want" contest in Canada. To take part, you must be a legal resident of Canada who will be enrolled in a Canadian post-secondary institution in the Fall semester of 2005, or who is currently enrolled in a Canadian post-secondary institution.Parcitipants start out with a "pool" of $2500CDN. You can increase the pool by getting your friends to sign up, with each one earning you an additional $250. Refer a maximum of 10 friends and bring your potential prize to $5000, and then start assembling your prize pack. A few 60GB iPods at $495 each? Perhaps an iBook? Maybe an Airport Express? You can swap items in and out of your prize pack as you wish, squeaking the most out of your pennies.
The contest ends on August 28, 2005, and the grand prize winner will be issued a coupon for the online Apple Store. Additionally, ten weekly prizes will be awarded in the form of iPod shuffles. So hop to it, the clock is ticking!
Thanks, Justin!

![TUAW [Cafepress]](http://www.blogsmithmedia.com/www.tuaw.com/media/tuaw-cafepress-promo.png)


Reader Comments (Page 1 of 1)
Michael said 3:43PM on 7-27-2005
Uhhh, is this thing real? As a Canadian college student I clicked through to it and thought it was wierd that the site was all in flash. I didn't think Apple used flash. A whois on the domain shows that Apple doesn't own it. Fuel Industries Inc. from Kingston, ON owns it. Also, there is no mention of it on Apple Canada's webite (at least that I could see). I am a bit weary of this.
Reply
Justin said 4:06PM on 7-27-2005
I wasn't sure at first either but I called Apple Canada and they verified it. I called the # on their contact page.
Reply
Talie said 11:34AM on 7-28-2005
That's weird, I can't find the contest page anymore... It was right there yesterday!
Reply
Nick said 12:04PM on 7-28-2005
Sum so far: this is scary. at first i wasnt sure if it was legit, and now the site is down and is just a redirect. does this mean that apple pulled the site (temp or perm) or does it mean that they threatened to sue a random company in kingston, who works in flash, and doesnt know how to make something look like apple made them (ie IT WAS IN FLASH)!?
Reply
jess said 9:55PM on 7-28-2005
Yeah it's a redirect to apple's education store. I logged in with my apple information so i'm sure it's apple endorsed... i hope
Reply