Skip to Content

Apple seizes 16 domain names from squatter

Apple dropped the hammer on a domain squatter the other day, reclaiming sixteen different domain names in one fell swoop. The company filed a complaint a while back against a guy named Daniel Bijan, who didn't bother to fight his case at all (not that he has one), and the result earlier this week gives them the rights to all of them. They run the gamut from iphonecheap.com to macbookpro.com (how did Apple not own that one?), and as of this writing, we couldn't find any that were actually being used by Apple yet -- they all seem to point to either a blank Apache page or a simple domain placeholder.

And as you may have noticed, there are no secrets here -- macfriend.com is probably just a stab in the dark on the part of the domain squatter, and ipodsbaratos.com means "iPods cheap" in Spanish. Just Apple reclaiming some of their rightful web space.

Categories

Internet Apple

Apple dropped the hammer on a domain squatter the other day, reclaiming sixteen different domain names in one fell swoop. The company...
 

Add a Comment

*0 / 3000 Character Maximum

40 Comments

Filter by:
Doug

I already abandoned the Apple Blog for being apple sycophants, please don't make me do the same here. How are these domain names Apple's rightful property? If I want to set up a website that finds the best place to buy iPhones I might call it iphonesbaratos.com

January 14 2010 at 9:42 AM Report abuse rate up rate down Reply
Andy

Awesome. Chris Lova Lova is an amazing entrepreneur ;)

January 11 2010 at 5:14 PM Report abuse rate up rate down Reply
Kbear

Ridiculous! Macfriend.com is theirs? What if I'm an apple fruit lover, applelovers.com. Sue me?

January 11 2010 at 12:49 AM Report abuse rate up rate down Reply
Jerqface

Is this where we leave mean comments? I know everything. You are wrong.

I think that's everything.

January 11 2010 at 12:45 AM Report abuse rate up rate down Reply
Andy

Jesus Horatio Christ! I had to read this article twice just to make sure it wasn't a spoof editorial. You should be ashamed of yourself for such biased reporting. Capitalism is what it is, and to operate under the assumption that a company should be able to seize domain names at anytime it deems so long as it has anything on it relating to their copyrights, is ludacris.

January 09 2010 at 5:36 PM Report abuse rate up rate down Reply
2 replies to Andy's comment
Fergus

I agree with your point, but what does Ludacris have to do with it? ;)

January 10 2010 at 6:08 AM Report abuse rate up rate down Reply
Yakov Chodosh

Ludacris was the original owner of the "Hot Club Sexxxx" domain until Apple stole it from him!

January 10 2010 at 5:11 PM Report abuse rate up rate down Reply
Wojtek

@Andrew: Apple has only rights to their trademarks in countries, where they have been registered by Apple. If anybody else registered a domain name of anything Apple-related, in a country Apple has never registered any trademark, it's none of Apple's business as long, as it doesn't hurt Apple's business. Obviously, re-selling iPods (made by and to a profit of Apple) is not a threat to Apple, as these iPods are already paid for.
You are very keen to shout about lack of knowledge to others, but you need to catch up with trademark law really quickly. If you're still in doubt, check out why Google can not use gmail.de domain name.

January 09 2010 at 4:57 PM Report abuse rate up rate down Reply
CrisisDog

Wow, it should only be a matter of time before 123macmini.com gets shut down then, with Apple rightfully reclaiming their copyright on the name if you follow these thought processes...

January 09 2010 at 12:39 PM Report abuse rate up rate down Reply
mdtree

Just think how some people on this forum would be squawking if MAC Tools took Apple to court. Guess which one was there first. MAC tools have been selling tools under that name since 1963. So, using the logic in your blog post, they should own the rights to all things mac. Mac (the computer) is short for Macintosh. Let them grab all the Macintosh urls out there.

This is just another example of a larger business squeezing out an entrepreneur by threatening them with legal action when they can not afford the legal costs.

January 09 2010 at 12:13 PM Report abuse rate up rate down Reply
1 reply to mdtree's comment
alansky

Bullsh*t, bullsh*t, bullsh*t!!!

January 09 2010 at 12:26 PM Report abuse rate up rate down Reply
esposimi

Best site that Apple owns: http://www.hotclubsexxxx.com. It redirect's to Apple's site, no joke.

January 09 2010 at 11:17 AM Report abuse rate up rate down Reply
2 replies to esposimi's comment
Yakov Chodosh

It's true!!!! That is hilarious!!!!

January 10 2010 at 5:08 PM Report abuse rate up rate down Reply
TuxToaster

Yes, it redirects to apple.com, but it's not owned by Apple. A whois on the domain shows the following (contact info redacted):

Owner, Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Billing Contact:
Sean Deviney
[REDACTED]
Hollywood, FL 33019
United States
[REDACTED]

January 11 2010 at 6:51 PM Report abuse rate up rate down Reply
Atanu

Welcome to moronsville. Population: mike schramm.

January 09 2010 at 7:56 AM Report abuse rate up rate down Reply
Buy an ad here

Hot Apps on TUAW

Tweets

© 2012 AOL Inc. All Rights Reserved.